Skip to content

December 18, 2012

“When I find myself sitting at dinner next to someone who knows just as much about novels as I do but has somehow also found the mental space to adore and be knowledgeable about the opera, have strong opinions about the relative rankings of Renaissance painters, an encyclopaedic knowledge of the English civil war, or French wines – I feel an anxiety that nudges beyond the envious into the existential. How did she find the time?”

Me too, Zadie.
Maybe it’s time to put down the New Yorker. The other day I read a profile on Lena Dunham’s mother Laurie Simmons, who’s built an expansive career on the concept of photographing dollhouse interiors. Immediately my thought was I could do that. And then okay I’ll load some film into the old medium format. But of course I can’t, and I haven’t.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

